Halloween (2018)

IMG_6328

Halloween (2018)
xxx
Directed by: David Gordon Green
xxx
Produced by: Malek Akkad
Jason Blum
Bill Block
xxx
Written by: Jeff Fradley
Danny McBride
David Gordon Green
xxx
Based on: Characters
by John Carpenter
Debra Hill
xxx
Release Date: October 5th, 2018
xxx
Starring: Jamie Lee Curtis (Laurie Strode)
Judy Greer (Karen)
Andi Matichak (Allyson)
Will Patton (Frank Hawkins)
Virginia Gardner (Vicky)
Nick Castle (Michael Myers/The Shape)
Haluk Bilginer (Dr. Ranbir Sartain)
xxx
Music by: John Carpenter
Cody Carpenter
Daniel Davies
xxx
Cite: Wikipedia
xxx

Halloween takes place 40 years following the events of the first movie in 1978 while subsequently disregarding all of the sequels (essentially taking place in an alternate timeline). In it, Michael Myers (played by Nick Castle) has spent forty years imprisoned in an insane asylum following being captured by police in 1978. Meanwhile, Laurie Strode (played fantastically by Jamie Lee Curtis) is suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and has been preparing all these decades for when Michael Myers would escape. It has caused tension with her daughter and granddaughter and all comes to a head when Michael begins a new killing spree in his mission to kill Laurie, her daughter and granddaughter.

While the movie might seem confusing to those of us who grew up on all of the Halloween movies (with the exception of Halloween 3 which is a complete waste of time) because this takes place in an alternate timeline, I actually really enjoyed it. I liked the fact that it disregards almost a dozen lackluster sequels, essentially wiping the slate clean (although, I still think Halloween 2 was the best sequel).

I liked how they included some of the classic movie into this one and I always liked how Michael Myers seems like a supernatural, immortal killer that just will. not. die. And while the Rob Zombie movies were too dark and too “brutal” for my liking, I found this movie to have just the right amount of dark to it.

I liked the suspense and the jump scares (people might say that there are too many of them in horror movies but as long as they are done right, I don’t exactly have an issue with them). Granted, I still think The Conjuring had the best jump scares out of all the recent horror movies I’ve seen lately, but the ones in this movie were pretty good (even if you knew some of them were coming, however).

There was just one character I slowly grew to dislike in this movie as the film went on but that was really the only thing I disliked about the movie.

Other than that one character, what we have in this movie was something special (in my opinion). Perhaps not as brutal or gory or as terrifying as one would expect or would think of when they think of a Halloween movie (except for the third one), but it was quite suspenseful and Michael Myers had his moments when he was just brutal.

In the end, I really enjoyed this one. Perhaps not the best horror movie I’ve seen (The Conjuring) but also not even close to being on the list of the worst ones I’ve seen (Jason X, Dracula 3000, Halloween 3).

xxx
4 ½ out of 5 stars!
xxx

Leave a comment